Nowadays, making a video conference is quite common, but you don’t always want to share the image. If this is your case, there is a way to prevent any current application from being able to access the camera you have on your mac computer from Apple. We show you how to do this and significantly improve your privacy.

One of the additional positive things about following the Steps What we are going to indicate is that you can do them at any time, so you do not have to run them before accessing the application (it is even possible to do them in the middle of the call so that you stop seeing what is in front of the camera of the Mac). Come on, that is a most useful possibility.

Prevent the use of the camera of Macs in a call

We are not going to indicate that in each of the current applications there is a button with the image of a camera that allows you to activate or deactivate the hardware. Unfortunately, options are beginning to be released in apps that allow administrators to control the uses of this hardware. Consequently, what you will do is establish the control on your own computer. In this way, it will not matter what software is used: you will always be in control.

Turn off the camera if you use a web service

In this case, what you have to do is take advantage of the options offered by Apple’s Safari browser. Here’s what you need to do to disable the Mac’s camera if connecting to web clients:

  • Open the Safari browser and, in the menu that includes, you must choose the option preferences.
  • Among all the tabs that appear in the window you see on the screen, you must choose the call Websites. Next, you will see that there is a section on the left called Camera.
  • You will check that each website you want or can access the camera, click on the desired one and select Deny in the drop-down on the right.
  • You will have finished.




pexels

Prevent an app from accessing your camera

These are the steps you have to take in your Mac if what they use are specific developments to hold a videoconference, such as Slack or Teams. Do the following without skipping any steps:

  • On the computer desktop, select the apple menu and, there, you must access the section called System preferences.
  • Among the possibilities here you must choose Security and Privacy. The next thing is that in the four tabs that you see in the pop-up window select Privacy.
  • Click on Camera in the left zone and, on the right, you will see all the applications that demand the use of the camera. Disable the ones that won’t have access to it (as you can see, the action is completely reversible).
  • You will have finished.

With these easy steps you can significantly increase the privacy you have when using a Mac computer because you will be the one controlling access to the camera and not the applications. And this is always important.



Source link

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here